Sri Lanka Team Will Arrive in Bangladesh for 3 Match ODI Series:

After beating the Tigers in Sri Lanka in a 2 match test series now it’s time for Bangladesh to become a host for the upcoming 3 match ODI series in Dhaka. 

Different games, different conditions, different situations will be challenging for Sri Lanka as Bangladesh is pretty much strong on the ODI side at their home conditions. 

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka odi series 2021
Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka ODI Series
Image Source: Twitter

Keep in mind, they are currently in sixth place after defeating West Indies 3-0 at home in January. 

Sri Lanka announces new ODI captain, Kusal Perera, and vice-captain, Kusal Mendis for the upcoming Bangladesh series. 

After losing 3 matches ODI series in West Indies, questions were raised about the captaincy of Dimuth Karunaratne, and some of the senior players, Anjelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, and Lahiru Thirimanne were kept in the discussion, as a result, been dropped from the team.

MUST READ:  Pakistan vs England 2nd T20 Highlights 2022

Kusal Perera, a wicket-keeper batsman played a vital role in the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 winning team and was dropped from the team a few months prior. He scored 2825 runs in 101 ODIs with an average of 31.04. 

Sri Lankan New Captain (Photo: Twitter/@ICC)

Kusal Mendis, a 26-year-old middle-order batsman played 76 ODIs and amassed 2167 runs averaging 30.52. 

Sri Lanka announced an 18 member squad keeping the 2023 world cup in mind. That’s why there will be opportunities for young players such as Shiran Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, and Asith Fernando. Danushka Gunathilaka, Vanindu Hasranga, and Eshen Bandara. 

They will leave for Bangladesh tomorrow and the three matches will be held at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on May 23, 25, and 28. Each play has been scheduled at 1 pm local time. 

MUST READ:  Pakistan vs England 2nd T20 Highlights 2022

After arriving in Bangladesh, they will directly go to Sonargaon Hotel for three-day mandatory quarantine from May 16-18. Then they will be given an opportunity for a two-day training session at BCB national cricket academy. 

Sri Lanka squad: Kusal Perera (Captain), Kusal Mendis (Vice-captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando.

, ,