Pakistan finished their Bangladesh tour successfully

Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by an innings and 8 runs in the second test match in Mirpur and clinched the 2 match test series 2-0.

Pakistan not only beat the team tigers but they also had to beat the time as two days of this test match wasn’t played due to rain. Certainly, this is one of their finest wins in test matches. 

Shaheen Shah Afridi, taking a selfie with his teammates after winning the dramatic test match on day five of the two-match test series in Mirpur

What actually went wrong for the hosts? The condition was favorable for them, the pitch was familiar, overall a package of home advantages for them. But they seemed very unfamiliar because of their batting approach and now one can raise questions about their dedication to the test matches. 

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Batting first, Pakistan declared the first innings at 300/4 with at least 50 overs left on day four which turned out to be the best decision made by their captain as they already sealed a thrilling victory on day five just before the bad light was set to draw the match.

Muhammad Rizwan celebrating after Mushfiqur Rahim’s run-out

Bangladesh, in their first innings, lost wickets on a continuous interval and finished the day at 76-7. Bangladesh began the last day with a new hope to survive against the ferocious pace attack of Pakistan. 

But it was off-spinner Sajid Khan who claimed 8 wickets for 42, entering into the history book of Pakistan with the fourth-best bowling figure by a Pakistani bowler. 

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Pakistan invited Bangladesh to bat again as they couldn’t avoid the follow-on and there once again,  Sajid Khan grabbed the headline for Pakistan while dismissing Taijul Islam by trapping in front. He ended the match with 12 wickets by his name. Surely, a star to look at in the future. 

Sajid Khan was awarded Player of the match for his valiant spell and Abid Ali as Player of the series. 

Sajid Khan, Pakistani off-spinner in action while playing against Bangladesh in Mirpur

Bangladesh couldn’t win a single match in the 2021-23 ICC Men’s Test Championship. According to Sport News BD, they will leave Bangladesh before Pakistan for their upcoming New Zealand series. 

There they will play two test matches, the first match starting on New Year’s Day and the second match will be played in Christchurch from January 9 to 13. Keep in mind, they have never won against New Zealand in this format. 

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Meanwhile, Bangladesh has announced their test squad for the upcoming series and uncapped all-rounder Fazle Mahmud has been called for as replacement of Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand Tests:

Mominul Haque (c), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Fazle Mahmud, Liton Das (wk), Nurul Hasan (wk), Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mohammad Naim

, , ,