Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League: Abahani became the champion without any drama; Mashrafe, Enamul and ‘rejected’ Ashraful are at the top

Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League
Source: Risingbd

After implying too many dramas, the biggest event of the country’s cricket club ended up in a one-sided way. This year, Abahani has never been on the headline for their off the field stuff. Dhanmondi’s Skyish-Yellow Camp has recuperated the title after a season with a clean and rugged performance in the field. Although there were some allegations about umpiring throughout the league. But this year’s league was more in the discussion for on-field play.

The point table before the last round left everyone in a mysterious situation. The three teams could be champions. But the calculations remained on the paper. No one else but only Abahani was able to claim the title by their performance.

Source: ESPNcricinfo

Abahani, who won the toss at the BKSP against Rupganj and elected to bat. It was a more likely a final for both teams. Abahani’s two openers Enamul and Nazmul have played an aggressive role since the start of the final. Captain Nasir Hossain and Opener Nazmul took the start to a better look. Abahani made a huge score of 374 runs in their innings.

MUST READ:  Bangladesh India ODI series 2022: Ban clinched a thriller series win

In fact, the contribution of the fielders of Rupganj was more than his bat in Nasir’s century. In between his 70s, fielders dropped him thrice. In his 91balls 129 runs knock with 15 fours and 4 sixes, he played too many random shots which went to the boundary line because of poor Fielding. In case, Nazmul Hossain Shanto’s 107 runs in 113 balls with two sixes and 11 fours were much better than that. In the end, Mashrafe’s cameo of 28 off 7 included 4 sixes gave Abahani’s innings a more handsome look.

Rupganj was also giving a good response to the run chase. Captain Naeem, opener M Naeem and Mushfiq scored the fifties and at one stage they were 280 for 6 in 41 overs. While everybody was expecting a thrilling finish for the league, they lost their last four wickets within just five balls and then stopped at 280.

MUST READ:  Bangladesh India ODI series 2022: Ban clinched a thriller series win
Source: Bangladesh Cricket Board

On the other hand, at Mirpur, Sheikh Jamal’s balloon of hope got rift off by Khelaghar before it starts to fly. Sheikh Jamal put on to bat and got bowled out for only 160. In reply, Khelaghar chase down that target quite easily with 6 wickets left.

At Fatulla, defending champion Gazi Group got bowled out at this season’s lowest total of 95 runs by Deleshwar. Deleshwar, the last three season runners-up, won the match before launch and finishes off the league at the 4th position.

Let’s come to the list of best individual performers of the league. In case of scoring, this league was good enough. Here, batsmen from outside of national team were far better than the current national team players. Although Tamim was injured and Shakib-Mahmudullah was busy with PSL, so it’s better to not judge them here. But as a relegated team’s player, Ashraful’s performance with the bat was quite brilliant. He is the highest ton (5 tons) scorer in the league, with three consecutive tons also.

MUST READ:  Bangladesh India ODI series 2022: Ban clinched a thriller series win

Meanwhile, discussions about top bowling performer have to be stopped at Mashrafe. This 36 years ‘young’ Mashrafe, who took 39 wickets in 16 matches, set the record for highest wicket taker of the league. His difference from the three bowlers at the second position is 10 wickets only!

Top five batsmen:

Name (team)


Runs Highest Average


Nazmul Hossain (Abahani)


749 150 * 57.61


Enamul Haque Bijoy (Abahani)


744 128 49.60


Naeem Islam (Rupganj)


720 116 55.38


Fazle Rabbi (Deleshwar)


708 120 47.20


Mohammad Ashraful (Kalabagan)


665 127 66.50


Top five bowlers:

Name (team)

Match Wicket Best Average


Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Abahani)


39 6/44 14.61


Asif Hasan (Rupganj)


29 4/23 22.65


Mohammad Shaheed (Rupganj)


29 4/26 26.55


Farhad Reza (Deleshwar)


29 4/37 26.86


Kazi Anik (Mohammedan)


28 6/49 19.10


, , , , , , , , , , , ,