BPL 2023: Big win for Fortune Barisal

Fortune Barisal beat Rangpur Riders with a great margin of 67 runs in the ongoing BPL 2023 edition.

Chasing the huge target of 239 runs thrown by Fortune Barisal, Rangpur Riders started their innings disastrously losing their first wicket in the 5th over of the match. From there on, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and never really recovered. Eventually, their innings got stuck at 171 runs.

Winning the toss Rangpur skipper Nurul Hasan sent Barisal to bat first. As usual, Anamul and Miraz opened for Barisal and made 30 runs for the first wicket as Anamul got out after playing an innings of 14 runs from 8 balls. Miraz scored 24 from 20 balls with three maximums.

Meanwhile, Ibrahim Zadran came to bat at number 3 but he went for a duck. After losing two quick wickets, Shakib and Iftikhar steered the innings when Barisal was under immense pressure.

Shakib opened his account with a boundary and along with Iftikhar was trying to recover gently. Both the batsmen were progressing little after little without giving too many dot balls. As per our experts, their smart move of not consuming dots turned the table for Barisal.

While running between the wicket, they increased the pace of scoring runs quickly. Iftikhar opened his hand with four sixes while Shamim Patwary came to bowl in the 13th over. After that over, Iftikhar completed his fifty and started scoring runs at a rocket pace.

In the meantime, Shakib also touched the landmark of fifty. The duo was looking furious and didn’t give room to the opponent bowlers.

Shakib Al Hasan and Iftikhar Ahmed created a pair record for Fortune Barisal in BPL 2023
Shakib Al Hasan and Iftikhar created a record pair partnership for Fortune Barisal in BPL 2023 | Prothom Alo

Iftikhar reached the three-digit with 45 balls while Shakib scored 89 off 43 balls. Both the batsmen remained unbeaten and Barisal put up an Everest total of 238 runs.

The result of the match was never in doubt as Rangpur Riders started cheaply. To chase such a mammoth, the start a team needs couldn’t be fulfilled by their openers. They lost three top orders within the first powerplay for 38 runs.

They lost three more wickets in the next 3 overs and the Riders’ innings fell apart. Middle-order batsmen Shoaib Malik, Mahedi Hasan, and Nawaz all made starts but failed to kick on, and it was left to tailenders to try and salvage something from the match.

Though Shamim Patwary and Mohammad Naim scored runs with a strike rate of more than 170 which was expected from the beginning. At the end of the 20 overs, Barisal sealed their four consecutive victories and the Riders lost three matches in the 2023 edition of BPL.