BPL 2022: Comilla Victorians had the final laugh

Comilla Victorians outplayed Fortune Barisal by one run in the BPL 2022 Final, and this is for the third time in eight seasons of this format they have lifted the trophy after a dramatic finish.

The title pendulum was swinging in the air till the last ball when Barisal needed three runs from one ball. But Shohidul, the medium pace bowler of the Victorians, kept his nerve tight and defended with his brilliant mind. 

But according to the Sport News BD experts, Sunil Narine was the all-time hero. Batting first, his blistering fifty (57 runs) from 23 balls which includes five boundaries and over-boundaries boosted up the team score to cross 70 runs in just 6 overs. 

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

And then again, at the start of the 18th over when Barisal was at 134 for 5, quite a healthy score for chasing down 152, Narine conceded only two runs and picked up the wicket of Dwayne Bravo. His all-round performance brought him the player of the final award. 

Sunil Narine, Player of the Final for his quickfire fifty and 2 for 15 in 4 overs. | ©BCB

However, Narine’s top-notch performance faded away for once while the other batters couldn’t continue what he started. Liton Das, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Faf du Plessis, Ariful Haque couldn’t reach two digits. 

Moen Ali’s 38 off 32 and Abu Hayder Rony’s 19 off 27 balls helped their team post a decent total for the big stage.

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Barisal could have won the battle after restricting the Victorians to 151 despite Narine’s fiery batting at the top. 

They had the game in their control with Shykat Ali’s 58 off 34 balls till the 13th over of the second innings. After that, their batting line-up collapsed, and they lost six wickets for 43 runs in the last seven overs. 

For Comilla, Sunil Narine and Tanvir Islam bagged two wickets each. Mustafizur and Shohidul shared a wicket each. 

Comilla Victorians the new champion of BPL 2022
Comilla Victorians, the champion of season 8 BPL | ©AFP/Getty Images

BPL 2022 at a glance:

Champion: Comilla Victorians (2022,2019,2015)

Runners-up: Fortune Barisal

Player of the Final: Sunil Narine (57 runs, 2/15)

Player of the Tournament: Shakib Al Hasan (284 runs and 16 wickets)

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Most Runs: Will Jacks (Chattogram Challengers), 414 runs in 11 matches

Most Wickets: Mustafizur Rahman (18 in 11 matches)

, , , ,