Asia Cup 2018: Here is the Brief History of Asia Cup Cricket

The Dubai Asia cup is a men’s one day international and t20 international cricket tournament. This council was established for creating brotherhood among Asian countries. Basically, it was to be held after two years period.

The first Asia Cup was held in the United Arab Emirates in 1984. Until 1995 the of Asia Cup’s Council’s headquarter was in the United Arab Emirates. India boycotts the 1986 Asia Cup held in Sri Lanka because of its conflict in cricket ties between these countries.

Asia Cup 2018: Here is the Brief History of Asia Cup Cricket
Source: Getty Images

Pakistan boycotts the 1990 – 91 tournament due to strain political relation with India. The 1993 tournament was cancelled due to strain in a political relation between India and Pakistan. The Asian Cricket Council decided in 2008 that the Asia Cup will be held bilaterally every time and the International Cricket Council has issued an order that every Asia Cup will be held in accordance with the one-day international rules.

After 2015 the International Cricket Council announced t that he 2016 Asia Cup match will be played in the rotation based on one-day internationals and T20 format. And as a result of the 2016 Asia Cup held in T20 format.

India and Sri Lanka both are the highest winning champion country in the Asia Cup so far in one-day internationals. Pakistan has won two titles. India has achieved the best in T20 format. India won the Asia Cup in the first T20 format of 2016. India has achieved the most success in this tournament. They have achieved total six titles, 5 titles in one-day international format and once in T20 format.

In 1984 the Asia Cup was held in Dubai Sharjah Stadium. Three teams participated in the first Asia Cup including India Pakistan and the new member of International Cricket Council Sri Lanka. India has won the first Asia Cup and Sri Lanka was the runner-up. The first match of the Asia Cup was held between India and Pakistan. Pakistan could not win a single game in 2 games and they were dropped from the tournament after defeating.

2nd Asia Cup tournament was held in Sri Lanka in 1986. But India withdraws their support from that tournament because due to a Cricket tournament conflict between India and Sri Lanka in the previous year. Bangladesh for the first time participated on that Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan in the final and win the Second Edition of the tournament’s title. In 1988 tournament was held in Bangladesh. It was the first time that any International Cricket tournament was held in Bangladesh. India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets to win the Asia Cup for the second time.

Again in 2000, The Asia cup event was held in Bangladesh. Pakistan and Sri Lanka were faced Each Other as the Rivals in the final of the of the tournament. India won only one match against Bangladesh. Pakistan won the title for the first time in the event against Sri Lanka and Yousuf Youhana was selected as the best player of the tournament.

Asia Cup 2018: Here is the Brief History of Asia Cup Cricket
Source: icccricketlive – ICC Cricket live

The first T20 Asia Cup was held in 2016 in Bangladesh for the third time. This event is held from February 24 to March 6 in 2016. The final game was held on 6th March 2016. The final game was held Sher-e-Bangla National stadium in Dhaka between India and Bangladesh. India defeated Bangladesh by 8 wickets and won the T20 Asia Cup title for the first time.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,