After defeating Hyderabad, Chennai will host the first play-off.

Chennai Super Kings finished sixth the previous season, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. For the first time in their IPL history, they had to call it quits before the last four. They also lost scoring by 218 runs against Mumbai in the previous match before it was postponed. The second leg of the IPL began in the United Arab Emirates. In the opening match, Chennai batted first and went 3 for 6 against Mumbai. From there, he won the match in Chennai and then began jogging. Following that, Chennai won four consecutive games to claim the first playoff spot this season.

Source: Indian Express

In today’s match against Hyderabad, Chennai, which leads the standings, faced the same equation: a victory guarantees a playoff spot. On the other side, Hyderabad’s burning dream of losing the play-off game will be extinguished. With 134 runs, Sharjah’s sluggish, low bounce pitch put the Hyderabad bowlers at bay. Then Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis demonstrated how to bat on such a pitch. In the end, Hyderabad put up a valiant fight, but it was insufficient.

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

In the first over, Gaikwad and Du Plessis scored 75 runs. Gaikwad batted for 45 balls, hitting four fours and two sixes before being caught by Jason Holder in the 11th over. Chennai’s triumph appeared to be just a matter of time with Du Plessis’ combination with Moin Ali. Rashid Khan returned to Moin in the 15th over. Holder came to the end of his session in the following over, bowling a pair of 73 balls to Suresh Raina and Faf du Plessis.

The tight two overs by Bhubaneswar Kumar and Siddharth Kaul added to the tension. The batting of Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni, on the other hand, has added to the excitement. Dhoni smashed Kaul for six with two balls remaining to secure Chennai’s win. The Chennai skipper was undefeated after 14 balls, while Raidu was unbeaten after 13 balls.

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad

Earlier in the innings, after losing the toss, Hyderabad batted first in the fourth over. Jason Hazlewood, the previous match’s player of the match after scoring two runs off six balls, caught Josh Hazlewood behind the wicket. Riddhiman Saha smashed two sixes to Deepak Chahar in the preceding over. Riddhiman’s attempt to reconcile with captain Kane Williamson after Roy’s dismissal fell short. Before Hyderabad scored 41 runs on the power play, Williamson was out in the eighth over. In Boca Forest, Dwayne Bravo’s full-length ball was ruled out.

Bravo’s next wicket came in the form of a short length. Priyam Garg, who came to the front and played aggressively, caught the sharp top and scored six points off ten balls. Riddhiman batted once in the ninth over for a personal 29 before being caught by Shardul Tagore for no-ball. However, in his second life, he managed to score 16 more runs. Dhoni finished his innings with a catch off Rabindra Jadeja, having played 46 balls and scoring 44 runs.

MUST READ:  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Squad
Source: First Sportz

In the middle, Abhishek Sharma and Abdul Samad’s 35 runs from 24 balls boosted Hyderabad’s run rate somewhat. Both scored 16 runs, with Sharma bowling 13 deliveries and Samad bowling 14 balls. However, Josh Hazlewood caught both of them in the 17th over. After that, Hyderabad scored 19 runs in the final two overs of Rashid Khan’s 17-run innings off 13 balls, but they were unable to break the 134-run barrier. With three wickets for 24 runs, Hazlewood took the lead. Dwayne Bravo needed only 16 runs to grab two wickets. Shardul Tagore and Rabindra Jadeja each grabbed one wicket.

, , ,